Diversity and Inclusion Award 2024 Winners

In 2024, ESF introduced a Diversity and Inclusion Awards Program to be presented at the IWD event. This initiative is dedicated to recognizing and celebrating leading practice in promoting inclusion and gender diversity amongst ESF’s 15 member agencies.

The winners for each award are as follows:

Diversity and Inclusion Champion

This award acknowledges a person for making a significant impact to advance diversity and inclusion in the workplace.

  • Beth Taylor CFA
Highly Commended:
  • Sam Dwyer LSV
  • Michael Prior VICSES


Women’s Equality Initiative

This award acknowledges a particular program for promoting the inclusion of not just women, but people of all genders in an emergency services workplace

  • Women’s Support Coordinator Project FRV, accepted by Sarah Hammond
Highly Commended:
  • Victorian Emergency Management Sponsorship of Diverse Talent Program – EMV & Parks Victoria, accepted by Jenni Rigby, Jodi Heath, and Erin Hegerty
  • Women’s Advisory Committee CFA, accepted by Kathy Millard


Gender Inclusivity Initiative

This award acknowledges a particular program for promoting the equality of women in an emergency services workplace.

  • Improving AV’s response to LGBTIQA+ community members – Ambulance Vic, accepted by Steven Gelagotis and Tiarni Allan
Highly Commended:
  • Regional Gippsland Pride Network – LGBTQIA+ Awareness Program DEECA, accepted by Michelle Worsley
  • Inclusion Safety program: tackling unconscious bias FFMVic, accepted by Adam Saunders and Leah Cornell-Morrissey